Public Safety

The City of Blue Lake is contracting with the Humboldt County Sheriff's Office for police services. They currently provide our city with 24 hour coverage.

Blue Lake has two assigned Deputies:  Andrea Sherrod and Seth Crosswhite.

Emergency- call 911.

For non-emergencies please contact Sheriff dispatch at 707-445-7251.

For more information about Humboldt County Sheriff's Office visit their website at

Need to know more about keeping Blue Lake Safe? Please see the below Public Safety Brochure. Hard copies are available at City Hall.


Public Safety Commission

The Public Safety Commission is made up of 5 members:

  • Laurel Goldsmith - term expires January 2020
  • Jason Crews - term expires January 2019
  • Dennis Whitcomb - term expires January 2019
  • Douglas Brown - term expires January 2020
  • Jason Ramos - term expires January 2019

The next regular meeting of the Public Safety Commission will be on Monday, February 5, 2018.

Meetings are held at the Skinner Store located at 111 Greenwood Rd - behind City Hall. The packet will be available below no later than the Friday before the meeting.

There is currently one vacancy on the Public Safety Commission. Application Deadline is open until filled.